BGC wins at home

The Brisbane Golf Club has recorded a strong win at home against Keperra Golf Club to secure two valuable points in Round 2 of BDGA Division 1 Pennants.

Both BGC and Keperra Golf Club needed a win after losing their opening matches last weekend and in the end the home advantage proved the difference with BGC winning 14.5-6.5.

All three grades won their matches with the Opens winning 7.3-3.5, the Masters winning 3-2 and the Juniors winning 4-1.

After losing 5-0 to Royal Queensland Golf Club the previous week, the Juniors rebounded well at home to secure four wins which included a first time win for Praty Bharadwaj who defeated his opponent 3/2. Other winners in the Juniors were Jordan Hampson (5/4), James Sammut (2/1) and Bailey Ittensohn (2/1).

Our Opens were boosted by the return of their number one player, Lawry Flynn to the team and only lost 2 matches out of the 11 to win comfortably in the end. After been 2 down thru 6 holes against former professional tennis player and golfer, Scott Draper, Lawry powered home to win 3/2. Three players including Sam Slater (4/3), Ben Steiler (2/1) and Ash Sturmer (3/2) recorded maiden wins playing in the Opens. Other winners included Ilija Soldan (4/3), Dylan Barraclough (4/3) and Lewis Clelland (1up). Zack Halpin finished his match all square.

The Masters have not lost a match at home for a number of years and were able to continue their amazing form at home. Craig James (4/3) made it back-to-back wins while Stephen Deane (4/2) and Phil Lynem (5/4) also secured full points.

In the other match played this week Redcliffe Golf Club hosted Royal Queensland Golf Club and won 12.5-8.5.

Next week BGC will play Redcliffe Golf Club and will be looking to play well in what will be another important test away from home. Royal Queensland Golf Club will host Keperra Golf Club in the other match.

Once again, a big thank you to our caddies and supporters who were in attendance.

Team selections for Round 3 will be finalised early this week and announced on Wednesday.


Lawry Flynn 1, 0, 0
Conor Whitelock 0, 0, 2
Sam Slater 1, 1, 0
Kurt Carlson 1, 0, 0
Wade Edwards 1, 0, 1
Ilija Soldan 1, 1, 0
Ben Stieler 1, 0, 1
Dylan Barraclough 1, 0, 1
Zack Halpin 0, 1, 1
Tom Deane 1, 0, 1
Lewis Clelland 1, 0, 1
Ash Sturmer 1, 0, 1


Jordan Hampson 1, 0, 1
James Sammutt 1, 0, 1
Matt Van Eden 0, 0, 2
Bailey Ittensohn 1, 0, 1
Praty Bharadwaj 1, 0, 1


Philip Melksham 0, 0, 2
Craig James 2, 0, 0
Stephen Deane 1, 0, 1
Phil Lynem 1, 0, 1
Rob Tathem 0, 0, 2

Leave a Reply